Register now !    Login  
Main Menu
Who's Online
110 user(s) are online (95 user(s) are browsing Message Forum)

Members: 0
Guests: 110

more...

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users

« 1 (2) 3 4 5 ... 8 »

Re: Jersey City Police Department lay offs and budget cuts
Not too shy to talk
Not too shy to talk

Hide User information
Last Login :
2016/9/5 14:23
From Jersey City
Group:
Registered Users
Quote:

Mathias wrote:
I don't believe pensions and healthcare are just for the super rich. If you work hard and play by the rules you deserve decent pay, vacation time, health benefits and a retirement.

Super rich? Hyperbole is another big problem in these debates. I'd say 99% of the non-union workers in the middle class don't get a pension and have to pay SIGNIFICANTLY more for healthcare. I work in the healthcare industry and have to pay 8.5% of my paycheck for healthcare. I also have to contribute to a 401k because I have no pension. The problem I have is the labeling of "concessions" by unions that aren't really concessions. I used to have a pension years ago, but due to tough times it has been eliminated. I also used to get free heathcare being in the industry. Don't tell me concessions have been made. When there are no more pensions for unions and they're taking almost 10% of your paycheck for healthcare, come talk to me about concessions.

Posted on: 2011/1/3 14:19

Home away from home
Home away from home

Hide User information
Last Login :
2018/2/27 0:25
Group:
Registered Users
Quote:

Mathias wrote:

If workers are slacking off and not doing their job that is a management problem. There is no union contract in the country that prohibits management from firing a worker who refuses to work or who performs poorly at their job. You can message me off list (or on here) the clause in your contract that prohibits management from firing workers because it would be a first for me.