Register now !    Login  
Main Menu
Who's Online
139 user(s) are online (121 user(s) are browsing Message Forum)

Members: 0
Guests: 139

more...

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users

Re: You can sue condo association for slipping on its sidewalk, N.J Supreme Court rules
Home away from home
Home away from home

Hide User information
Last Login :
2019/11/14 1:56
Group:
Registered Users
Quote:

papadage wrote:
No, as the property owners adjacent to public sidewalks have a statutory duty to maintain them and clear them of snow.

Keeping in mind that:
? Slip & fall laws are pretty messy
? I'm not an attorney
? If I was an attorney, I wouldn't give out free legal advice via the Internet ;)

I did not say property owners are not required to maintain their sidewalks. What I said is that the city owns the sidewalk. It's an easement to adjacent property owners.

As best I can figure, there is a level of residential sidewalk immunity in NJ. E.g. if the sidewalk is broken and the city doesn't fix it (e.g. city-owned tree buckles the sidewalk), the adjacent property owner is not responsible. However, if the problem with the sidewalk is because the property owner is negligent (they fail to clear snow & ice), the property owner is likely liable.

Here's a typical writeup from an attorney's office on this clear-as-mud distinction:
http://www.chamlin-rosen.com/articles ... s-conditions-of-property/

In case you didn't read the article: A woman slipped and fell on a sidewalk in a 55+ community. She sued everyone possible (surprise!), including the Association, which owns the sidewalk. The Association claimed that because the public used the sidewalks, residential sidewalk immunity applies.