Register now !    Login  
Main Menu
Who's Online
46 user(s) are online (36 user(s) are browsing Message Forum)

Members: 1
Guests: 45

Strawhat, more...

Browsing this Thread:  Strawhat    3 Anonymous Users

« 1 (2)

Re: Teacher Protests Disturbing Neighborhood
Home away from home
Home away from home

Hide User information
Group:
Registered Users
Quote:

thomash844 wrote:
I have been a JC resident and invested in Jersey City long before it was hip, happening or cool. I have also worked as a Jersey City public school teacher for 12 years, about half the time I’ve lived here. I am still at a salary on which it is increasingly difficult to continue living here. My 2018 workload is compensated with a 2009 paycheck, due to the extremely harsh increases in health benefit premiums, and with each new contract being set back on the steps of the pay scale. I have dedicated the last 12 years for the good of the children of this city. I was Teacher Of the Year in my school in 2014. At this point I feel WHAT THE HELL DO I HAVE TO LOSE. I, and others, are picketing so people like the haters on here will know we have a valid complaint. I don’t want to strike but I WILL if I’m pushed to it. With my real estate taxes about to explode and premiums skyrocketing every year what the hell am I supposed to do ? Take on ANOTHER side job?? (I already have THREE: i work before school, after school and on Saturdays). Don’t tell me to go find something that pays better—- pay me better! Don’t tell me to “find a job I’m happier with,” because I happen to love my job.