Register now !    Login  
Main Menu
Who's Online
52 user(s) are online (44 user(s) are browsing Message Forum)

Members: 0
Guests: 52

more...

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users

Re: Merseles St Redevelopment Plan
Quite a regular
Quite a regular

Hide User information
Last Login :
2018/3/29 2:56
Group:
Registered Users
Surveyors are at the 416 1st St property today. No idea how long that means until construction begins, but it's a step closer to the property between 2nd and 3rd getting started

Quote:

cocopele wrote:
Tino,
I have no experience using or working with a redevelopment plan, but I do have some insight on the plans for the area you're asking about.

sillycorp is correct in the assumption that they want to build another Crescent Court style condo building. I don't think the delay has anything to do with the other buildings along 2nd street holding out though. It has to do with financing.

The Crescent Court property was owned by the same people. They sold it to Hovnanian and then Matzel & Mumford built the project. This time around they want to build it themselves. The issue is they have no experience with such projects and therefore have been unable to secure funding to get the project off the ground. They also own the garage/building at 416 1st street where Krank used to be and the woodworker has his space (the white space of B4 and 9 along 1st st).

The plan as far as I understand it is to build a condo at the 416 location in the same kind of idea that is 418 and 420 1st street. Then as that building sells, use the money and experience to start the larger project.

So long story short, it is going to be a while.

Quote:

sillyscorp wrote:
it seems like there is a new building going in right across from the school (about midway on 3rd btw mersalis and colgate - I would say block 58 or 59 on that map) - they have some of the foundation and plumbing in.