Register now !    Login  
Main Menu
Who's Online
91 user(s) are online (73 user(s) are browsing Message Forum)

Members: 0
Guests: 91

more...

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users

Re: Anyone ever have a busted sewer line in their JC house?
Home away from home
Home away from home

Hide User information
Last Login :
2016/10/21 19:48
Group:
Registered Users
Yes, Eugene Brajczewski did the work.

Posted on: 2016/3/29 20:24

Home away from home
Home away from home

Hide User information
Last Login :
1/10 13:10
From Downtown JC, VVP Area
Group:
Registered Users
I was a licensed insurance broker for 20 years and I can tell you that sewer backup is NOT covered under a standard homeowners policy. Some companies will offer to sell you a "rider" that extends coverage for that for an additional premium. I can't quote you exact pricing but I think it used to be about $150 a year. When you're in a flood zone or awfully near one, meaning most of DTJC, few if any company will even offer you the coverage.

After owning a total of 3 houses Downtown over the past 30 years, the absolute BEST thing you can do is install a check valve (sometimes called a backwater valve) that basically lets the water out but not back in. And while you're at it, if you have a small well in your basement with a sump pump at the bottom of it be SURE to put a check valve on that line too. The cost of both of those valves is maybe $100 (plus installation if you're not Handy) and you can relax.