Register now !    Login  
Main Menu
Who's Online
124 user(s) are online (89 user(s) are browsing Message Forum)

Members: 0
Guests: 124

more...

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users

Re: How to get back rent from a tenant who was evicted?
Just can't stay away
Just can't stay away

Hide User information
Last Login :
2019/4/5 1:44
From Jersey City
Group:
Registered Users
Quote:

CatDog wrote:
Quote:

Dinger wrote:
Yes I read the thread. None of this is a simple process and involves a fair amount of time and hassle. If it's 15k in back rent it's hardly worth it. If it's significantly more then perhaps. But you'll still have to go through the process of obtaining a judgment, executing on the judgment, etc. We don't know much info, but if a tenant skipped on rent for as long as the poster implied they may not have stable employment.
whoo boy $15k in rent that's no slim pickings. I assume you missed a decimal point.

This is my first time dealing with eviction so I'm trying to learn as much as possible about it now. They will end up owing a few thousand, which if it ends up taking half a day or a full day in court could be worth it to me. Really depends on how much effort it is, but a part of me wants to go through the process anyway to learn for the future.

I think you'll find it's not worth the effort for a few thousand. But if you have the time and want to see the process through, go for it. You have the right attitude if, as you indicate, you're more interested in learning about the process/procedure. Just temper your expectations about justice being served and realize anything you actually collect is window dressing.

Posted on: 2017/9/26 21:15

Home away from home
Home away from home

Hide User information
Last Login :
1/7 4:19
Group:
Registered Users
Quote:

Dinger wrote: