Register now !    Login  
Main Menu
Who's Online
90 user(s) are online (78 user(s) are browsing Message Forum)

Members: 0
Guests: 90

more...

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users

Re: 95 percent of the people in Jersey City are good and five percent are bad...
Home away from home
Home away from home

Hide User information
Last Login :
2020/4/26 22:05
Group:
Registered Users
Quote:

CdeCoincy wrote:

As a law abiding resident, I want minimum interaction with the police. I'm prepared to be treated curtly IF that leaves them time to concentrate on the 5%. This type of breakdown 95/5 supports my feeling that even the most petty crimes - fare jumping, quality of life violations, etc. should not be ignored. Grab someone for jumping a turnstile, and you may have grabbed a mugger, thief, a dead beat parent, etc. also.

Of course! I would guess that most people do not really want that much interaction with police (and, ideally, little or none is ever necessary). But, when interacting with civilians, LEO (especially local police!) have a duty to do so civilly and with respect. Their uniform is not a carte blanche permission to act like bullies and do as they please. To Serve and Protect... those words sound quite hollow some times.

Posted on: 2014/6/12 16:07

Re: 95 percent of the people in Jersey City are good and five percent are bad...
Home away from home
Home away from home

Hide User information
Last Login :
2016/1/21 20:29
Group:
Registered Users
I think labeling 5% of the population as "bad" is not right. There are bad people and people who make bad decisions. I think committing crime, especially non-violent crime, does not make you a bad person necessarily. That seems like a very sloppy and juvenile way to think and give direction.

Posted on: 2014/6/12 15:51

Home away from home
Home away from home

Hide User information
Last Login :
2017/5/31 2:51
Group:
Registered Users
Quote:

JC_rider wrote: