Register now !    Login  
Main Menu
Who's Online
151 user(s) are online (131 user(s) are browsing Message Forum)

Members: 0
Guests: 151

more...

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users

Re: Good N.J. teachers should speak up for merit pay
Home away from home
Home away from home

Hide User information
Last Login :
2022/4/28 22:07
Group:
Registered Users
There are so, so, SO many ways to game the system on a "merit" based system.

Posted on: 2010/2/22 20:37

Home away from home
Home away from home

Hide User information
Last Login :
2022/2/28 7:31
From 280 Grove Street
Group:
Registered Users
merit pay for teachers, are they nuts!

you earn a pay by satisfactory results and maintain your pay and job if you achieve them.

If anything it should be the other way around ... poor satisfactory results = reduction in pay and /or fired.

If I provide unsatisfactory results as a builder / developer I don't get paid, jobs, contracts and get sued.

Having said that, the 'results' should be demographically / socio-economic graded for each area and teachers that perform better via innovation and teaching methods should be upgraded in pay and status to trainers and mentors for other teachers that don't make the 'grade'

Mind you it has always been a free service and criteria for all employees to share and learn from each other without reward...should I ask for merit pay from the government for my skills in teaching others how to hit a nail in lumber correctly !

It is funny how most want an extra in our pay for just doing our jobs correctly and meeting our key performance indicators.

Posted on: 2010/2/22 19:27
My humor is for the silent blue collar majority - If my posts offend, slander or you deem inappropriate and seek deletion, contact the webmaster for jurisdiction.

Home away from home
Home away from home

Hide User information
Last Login :
2019/8/9 20:03
Group:
Registered Users