Register now !    Login  
Main Menu
Who's Online
122 user(s) are online (105 user(s) are browsing Message Forum)

Members: 0
Guests: 122

more...

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users

« 1 ... 3 4 5 (6) 7 8 9 ... 26 »

Re: HUGE GAS PIPELINE COMING - through Jersey City
Home away from home
Home away from home

Hide User information
Last Login :
2019/11/14 1:56
Group:
Registered Users
Quote:

kellyh wrote:
And what makes you such an expert?

I'm not an expert, and I have no more information than anyone else. I've stated the facts as I know them, and it's all from public sources.

If you want to know about risk evaluation, Dan Gardner's book The Science of Fear is a decent place to start: http://www.amazon.com/Science-Fear-Sh ... ves-Greater/dp/0525950621

A Psychology Today article also summarized some recent findings on the topic. Several items mentioned in the article likely apply here. http://www.psychologytoday.com/articl ... ays-we-get-the-odds-wrong

Posted on: 2013/2/21 1:08

Home away from home
Home away from home

Hide User information
Last Login :
2020/12/23 21:08
Group:
Registered Users
I appreciate your stance and the facts you presented. I however, would like to mitigate any risk to myself or my loved ones by keeping away as far as possible from any gas pipeline. If by any chance or likelihood there is a leak or explosion, i'd like to know i did everything i could to prevent it from coming through JC.

Posted on: 2013/2/21 0:22

Just can't stay away
Just can't stay away

Hide User information
Last Login :
2013/4/25 1:25
Group:
Banned
Quote:

Dolomiti wrote:
Quote:

tommyc_37 wrote:
Who is this Dolomiti character and why is he/she supporting the pipeline?

Oh, for cryin' out loud.

I've lived in JC for over 10 years, I'm a homeowner. Heaven forbid I disagree with people on this topic... or point out that most people are terrible at evaluating risk.

And what makes you such an expert?

Posted on: 2013/2/21 0:00

Home away from home
Home away from home