Register now !    Login  
Main Menu
Who's Online
132 user(s) are online (118 user(s) are browsing Message Forum)

Members: 0
Guests: 132

more...

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users

« 1 (2)

Re: Power Lines in JC
Just can't stay away
Just can't stay away

Hide User information
Last Login :
2016/6/6 21:33
Group:
Banned
Disclaimer: I am no expert, but I do enjoy articles about energy and alternative energy.

2 thoughts:

1. PSE&G will most likely balk at burying lines now that they just installed all those solar panels on power poles all over the state. The cost of which was passed on to the consumer. You would think it would be cheaper with all this solar power instantly available in the grid. One of the major expenses with solar farms is delivering the power to where it needs to be.

2. My ridiculous building (built in 2006) has a power pole outside, whereby the power then runs down the pole and enters the building underground. Our underground transformer survived Sandy, but eventually "crapped out" (technical term) after the last snow storm; it must have been weakened by Sandy.

It would have to be difficult to install underground utilities to many of the "historic" buildings in JC.

Posted on: 2013/2/26 22:12

Home away from home
Home away from home

Hide User information
Last Login :
2020/8/26 13:40
Group:
Registered Users
Quote:

Althea wrote:
Here is a great article on the subject in the Washington Post:

http://www.washingtonpost.com/blogs/w ... es-dont-bury-power-lines/

Very good paragraph:

"Yet there are also other options, the EIA notes, from hardening above-ground infrastructure at crucial junctures to ?vegetation management? to smart grid technology that reroutes power when lines go down. Burying power lines isn?t the only way to respond to a storm ? and often it?s not even the most effective strategy."

JC needs a strategy.

Posted on: 2013/2/26 22:01

Home away from home
Home away from home

Hide User information
Last Login :
2020/9/30 18:46