Register now !    Login  
Main Menu
Who's Online
86 user(s) are online (81 user(s) are browsing Message Forum)

Members: 0
Guests: 86

more...

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users

« 1 (2)

Re: Running on the Jersey City streets
Home away from home
Home away from home

Hide User information
Last Login :
2018/10/30 19:53
Group:
Registered Users
I have been running the waterfront for 8+ years (i'm female). I only run in the mornings. It can get creepy on the streets to/from the waterfront. If I'm running before 7AM, I don't like to use the iPod and I sometimes carry pepper spray, but after 7AM-ish, there's enough activity to make me feel safer. But I haven't had any real incidents. And radryan03 makes a good point: don't run the same pattern.

The sunrise over the city is beautiful.

I try to save the treadmill for bad weather days.

Posted on: 2009/10/26 18:06

Just can't stay away
Just can't stay away

Hide User information
Last Login :
2022/12/30 3:40
Group:
Banned
I would not run with an IPod for safety reasons - like general awareness and being a target for theft.

Posted on: 2009/10/26 17:41

Home away from home
Home away from home

Hide User information
Last Login :
2018/9/5 2:01
From Hamilton Park
Group:
Registered Users
I wouldn't run up there at night and I'm dude. I occasionally have moments along the water (where I run regularly) that make me uncomfortable. Dont run around up there at night or start a pattern that people come to expect.

If it's day light... Lincoln Park is great. To second Nori's vote I love the waterfront and now that the walkway is open from JC to Hoboken you can take in some real distance.

The only really good all hours place to run is the waterfront... aside from it being reasonably well lit... there are security cameras

Posted on: 2009/10/26 12:57

Home away from home
Home away from home

Hide User information
Last Login :
2011/12/1 1:50
Group:
Registered Users
i've never had any problems running on Grove.