Register now !    Login  
Main Menu
Who's Online
26 user(s) are online (20 user(s) are browsing Message Forum)

Members: 0
Guests: 26

more...



Tags: ''  

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users




« 1 (2) 3 4 5 ... 9 »


Re: VERIZON FIOS
Home away from home
Home away from home


Hide User information
Joined :
2005/4/21 17:05
Last Login :
2018/3/26 15:30
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 296
Offline
No, swapped that out too.

Posted on: 2010/12/28 17:41
Top


Re: VERIZON FIOS
Just can't stay away
Just can't stay away


Hide User information
Joined :
2010/11/19 23:02
Last Login :
2011/12/24 13:20
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 76
Offline
perhaps there is a problem with your HDMI cable?

Posted on: 2010/12/28 17:19
Top


Re: VERIZON FIOS
Home away from home
Home away from home


Hide User information
Joined :
2005/4/21 17:05
Last Login :
2018/3/26 15:30
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 296
Offline
I am a recent FIOS convert and I am having some issues with the TV service. After watching TV for several hours the audio starts to degrade and them becomes garbled to the point of no return. Turning the set top box off and back on fixes it but it is very annoying. Has anybody else had this problem?

I contacted tech support but they just gave me the run-around, unplug and re-plug everything and it still happens.

They are sending a new st-top box but I'm pretty sure that's not the problem.

Also the quality of some channels is bad, TBS for example looks grainy as hell.

Please don't make me go back to Comcast!!!!

Posted on: 2010/12/28 17:07
Top


Re: VERIZON FIOS
Home away from home
Home away from home


Hide User information
Joined :
2008/4/20 15:31
Last Login :
2019/10/28 16:47
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 372
Offline
Made to switch to FIOS a couple of months ago. I would say hands down that the tv is leaps and bounds better then Comcast.
The internet is a bit faster and doesn't drop off nearly as much.

So far so good.

Posted on: 2010/12/6 19:20
Top


Re: VERIZON FIOS
Newbie
Newbie


Hide User information
Joined :
2008/9/4 14:46
Last Login :
2010/12/6 17:02
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 4
Offline
I had comcast and their customer service was absolutely horrible. It was the reason I went with Verizon as a provider.
Unfortunately Verizon customer service isn't winning any awards.
My premium channels have not been working for some time and after spending an HOUR chatting and troubleshooting with their online tech they decided to schedule an appointment.
so...sometime between 8am and 12pm today they were going to show up. supposedly. even though 12 came and went and they still aren't here.

after calling tech support i was told that i'm the next scheduled job and they didnt know when they would be here.

great.

So far i've wasted 5 hours of my time and I still cant watch Showtime.

SUCK.

Posted on: 2010/12/6 17:08
Top


Re: VERIZON FIOS
Home away from home
Home away from home


Hide User information
Joined :
2005/3/21 20:01
Last Login :
7/5 14:03
From Exchange Place
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 1310
Offline
I called and got a $5 credit. I complained that I was supposed to work at home today, and because of the outage, I was force to commute and go into the office.

Posted on: 2010/11/2 0:36
Top


Re: VERIZON FIOS
Home away from home
Home away from home


Hide User information
Joined :
2005/8/6 23:41
Last Login :
12/3 14:00
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 545
Offline
Quote:

Annod wrote:
Verizon FIOS outage was still happening this morning when I went to work. I would have stayed home and work at home if I had internet. How could they have such a long outage? Don't they have backup or alternate systems or something?


That's Verizon for ya.

Posted on: 2010/11/1 14:30
Top


Re: VERIZON FIOS
Home away from home
Home away from home


Hide User information
Joined :
2005/3/21 20:01
Last Login :
7/5 14:03
From Exchange Place
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 1310
Offline
Verizon FIOS outage was still happening this morning when I went to work. I would have stayed home and work at home if I had internet. How could they have such a long outage? Don't they have backup or alternate systems or something?

Posted on: 2010/11/1 14:01
Top


Re: VERIZON FIOS
Home away from home
Home away from home


Hide User information
Joined :
2005/9/6 15:48
Last Login :
2016/6/20 2:33
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 636
Offline
Still out on VVP.
Glomming on neighbor's unsecured wireless, bless his heart.
Spotty reception though.
I should go sit in my car.

Posted on: 2010/11/1 2:11
Top


Re: VERIZON FIOS
Newbie
Newbie


Hide User information
Joined :
2004/12/8 0:57
Last Login :
2010/11/1 1:28
From Hamilton Park
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 2
Offline
anyone's FiOS internet still out? We's still down since this morning over on montgomery.

Posted on: 2010/11/1 1:30
Top


Re: VERIZON FIOS
Home away from home
Home away from home


Hide User information
Joined :
2007/5/6 16:35
Last Login :
2011/10/5 14:56
From Van Vorst
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 191
Offline
Ours Fios internet went back on around noon.

Posted on: 2010/10/31 18:03
Top


Re: VERIZON FIOS
Home away from home
Home away from home


Hide User information
Joined :
2005/9/6 15:48
Last Login :
2016/6/20 2:33
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 636
Offline
My internet is still out.
Tv and phone have been fine though.
And I have rebooted the router.
Numerous times, now.


Posted on: 2010/10/31 17:04
Top


Re: VERIZON FIOS
Home away from home
Home away from home


Hide User information
Joined :
2005/7/13 15:03
Last Login :
4/22 0:53
From Western Slope
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 4422
Offline
FIOS was out for me this morning as well. I tried it around 5:30 am and then didn't try it till noon at that point it was back on. I called Verizon when I experienced the outage the recorded message stated there was indeed a disruption of service and they are working on it? Even the FIOS TV was acting erratic.

Posted on: 2010/10/31 16:46
Top


Re: VERIZON FIOS
Home away from home
Home away from home


Hide User information
Joined :
2009/6/29 19:45
Last Login :
2019/3/21 20:55
From The Heights
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 540
Offline
Fios for me didn’t go out..

Posted on: 2010/10/31 16:17
Top


Re: VERIZON FIOS
Home away from home
Home away from home


Hide User information
Joined :
2005/5/11 19:17
Last Login :
2016/2/7 17:42
From Ward E - Hamilton Park
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 453
Offline
Our FIOS was down early this morning but was restored before 10AM, not sure of exact time.

Quote:

Binky wrote:
Yes, but they're "committed to restoring service by 12AM Monday,
November 1st."

Setting a high bar for expectation, aren't they?

Posted on: 2010/10/31 16:00
Top


Re: VERIZON FIOS
Quite a regular
Quite a regular


Hide User information
Joined :
2008/2/19 14:55
Last Login :
2011/5/14 13:52
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 41
Offline
Unplug it and plug it back in after a minute. Just worked for me.

Posted on: 2010/10/31 15:47
Top


Re: VERIZON FIOS
Home away from home
Home away from home


Hide User information
Joined :
2005/9/6 15:48
Last Login :
2016/6/20 2:33
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 636
Offline
Yes, but they're "committed to restoring service by 12AM Monday,
November 1st."

Setting a high bar for expectation, aren't they?

Posted on: 2010/10/31 13:51
Top


Re: VERIZON FIOS
Home away from home
Home away from home


Hide User information
Joined :
2005/9/6 15:48
Last Login :
2016/6/20 2:33
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 636
Offline
Yes, but they're "committed to restoring service by 12AM Monday,
November 1st."

Setting a high bar for expectation, aren't they?

Posted on: 2010/10/31 13:51
Top


Re: VERIZON FIOS
Home away from home
Home away from home


Hide User information
Joined :
2007/5/6 16:35
Last Login :
2011/10/5 14:56
From Van Vorst
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 191
Offline
Fios Internet oitage in some parts of downtown JC 8:30 AM 10/31

Posted on: 2010/10/31 12:58
Top


Re: Verizon FIOS in Hamilton Park area
Quite a regular
Quite a regular


Hide User information
Joined :
2007/9/16 13:05
Last Login :
2015/8/29 11:21
From Jersey City, Hamilton Park
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 69
Offline
Im in Ham. Pk. Although I dont have Fios, it is available in the neighborhood. Several people in my building have it as well as a friend who lives a couple blocks away. It may have to do with if you dont have a verizon phone service. You're best bet is to speak to Fios rep on the phone.

Posted on: 2010/9/12 14:47
Top


Verizon FIOS in Hamilton Park area
Home away from home
Home away from home


Hide User information
Joined :
2008/4/20 15:31
Last Login :
2019/10/28 16:47
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 372
Offline
Does anyone that lives in the area of Hamilton Park have Verizon FIOS? I went to the website and put an address in , and it said not available. Is that true?

Posted on: 2010/9/12 14:32
Top


Re: Verizon Fios
Home away from home
Home away from home


Hide User information
Joined :
2010/4/5 15:18
Last Login :
2011/11/27 22:56
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 160
Offline
Had it for over year now without a single outage. Great picture and DVR allows multi-room viewing. I'd never go back to Comcast.

Posted on: 2010/6/16 21:18
Top


Re: Verizon Fios
Home away from home
Home away from home


Hide User information
Joined :
2008/4/23 15:27
Last Login :
2016/7/18 3:56
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 263
Offline
Quote:

funkybucky wrote:
Good day all. I wanted to know if anyone here has had any experience, Good or Bad with Verizon Fio's service.

I have just about had it with Comcast, and they are now raising my service again, we pay close to 200/month for Cable, Internet and phone service.

So, I've been researching Verizon Fio's and wanted to see if anyone in the area has had any experinces or has reviews of the service.

Heights fella here, and thanks in advance for your help.

Peace


I'm getting FiOS installed this weekend. (Installation apparently takes quite a while, as they have to wire your whole apartment with fiber cables, so I've scheduled it while I can watch the air race from my living room!) For me it's going to work out to about $100-110/month for phone, internet, two boxes and cable, which is a pretty good deal. And they no longer require the two-year contract, but they do guarantee the price of service for that long.

Posted on: 2010/6/16 19:21
Top


Verizon Fios
Newbie
Newbie


Hide User information
Joined :
2004/5/16 16:03
Last Login :
2016/11/1 21:10
From New York Avenue, Heights
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 12
Offline
Good day all. I wanted to know if anyone here has had any experience, Good or Bad with Verizon Fio's service.

I have just about had it with Comcast, and they are now raising my service again, we pay close to 200/month for Cable, Internet and phone service.

So, I've been researching Verizon Fio's and wanted to see if anyone in the area has had any experinces or has reviews of the service.

Heights fella here, and thanks in advance for your help.

Peace

Posted on: 2010/6/16 19:00
Top


Re: VERIZON FIOS
Home away from home
Home away from home


Hide User information
Joined :
2008/4/23 15:27
Last Login :
2016/7/18 3:56
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 263
Offline
Quote:

JerseyCityKid08 wrote:
Yes I talked to security this morning and they said that Verizon is making Fios available at Metropolis Towers. Too bad I just signed a one year contract with Comcast


I found out when I renewed my lease in Jan that FiOS was in the works... they told me sometime in mid-March, so fingers crossed it's soon!

Posted on: 2010/3/12 5:21
Top


Re: VERIZON FIOS
Newbie
Newbie


Hide User information
Joined :
2010/3/6 21:57
Last Login :
2010/3/19 21:21
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 8
Offline
I had Verizon Fios in the Heights and I found it to be a much better product than what is offered by Comcast. The picture was far superior and the few times I needed to contact customer service I was always treated with respect. On the other hand, now that I moved to JSQ, I'm back with Comcast and I am not too happy. They just don't understand the concept of customer service and act as though they are doing you a favor when you call or need something done. I can't wait for the day Fios is available on my street.

Posted on: 2010/3/12 3:49
Top


Re: VERIZON FIOS
Just can't stay away
Just can't stay away


Hide User information
Joined :
2008/4/14 22:24
Last Login :
2017/10/9 2:11
From Downtown JC
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 125
Offline
nice, I was hoping that was it, there have been 10 trucks parked here also so I figured somethin was goin on. I just signed a damn contract with comcast also, I think it is $75 to break it....it might actually be worth it and maybe Verizon can give comcast contract breakers a deal or something.

funny enough there was a note on my door saying there will be service interruption with comcast because they are switching us over to the new system...hopefully that means more HD (though doubtful)

Posted on: 2010/3/12 3:42
Top


Re: VERIZON FIOS
Just can't stay away
Just can't stay away


Hide User information
Joined :
2010/1/14 22:17
Last Login :
2012/4/4 15:32
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 128
Offline
Yes I talked to security this morning and they said that Verizon is making Fios available at Metropolis Towers. Too bad I just signed a one year contract with Comcast

Posted on: 2010/3/12 3:23
Top


Re: VERIZON FIOS
Just can't stay away
Just can't stay away


Hide User information
Joined :
2008/4/14 22:24
Last Login :
2017/10/9 2:11
From Downtown JC
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 125
Offline
I just noticed a new Verizon Fiber ADC 48 port distribution box in the trash room on my floor in Metropolis towers? I assume this would be for FIOS?

Posted on: 2010/3/10 5:34
Top


Re: VERIZON FIOS
Home away from home
Home away from home


Hide User information
Joined :
2006/7/14 19:34
Last Login :
2013/11/1 17:27
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 528
Offline
Quote:

Ms_Taggart wrote:
Quote:

ErinMaiden wrote:
personally i don't see what the hoopla is w/ damn fios. i've had it about a year and really see no difference w/ this service and comcast.

the one thing i will say is that when comcast made times to come out and fix something they showed. Verizon today is a no show and they can't even tell me why. they have contact numbers incase of issues and they don't bother to call. so there's one day off of work for them and they blow you off.

i'm waiting for a return call and if i don't get it, its back to comcast.


+1 I fell for the marketing gimmick too. I've noticed no discernable improvement, but I have noticed the following negative features:

1) Comcast has better phone service (ability to check VM online, no need to dial "1")
2) Comcast has more intuitive guide navigation
3) Verizon internet service seems to blip more than comcast

I suppose I will wait 6 months to change back


I got Fios 2 months ago and I like it better than Comcast.

I didn't have the Comcast phone, and haven't used my new one more than twice, so I can't compare those.
Besides installation, I haven't needed to call them for service, so I can't comment on that either. I understand that even one bad experience would sour someone, including myself.

Why I like it better is that I am getting more for my money.
For the same price as before:
I have more subscription channels.
I have more HD channels. A lot more. If you subscribe to movie channels, like HBO, you get around 7 HD HBO channels while Comcast only has one.
I have multi-room DVR. Only one records but you can watch on the other TV.

The guide took some getting used to, but now that I'm used to it I think it's fine. I don't think one is more intuitive than the other. Actually, 2 features that Comcast doesn't have that I use a lot are.:
You can search by an actor, like James Stewart or Traci Lords, and it'll show you all the upcoming movies or shows with them.
They have a skip forward/back 30 seconds button. Makes it a lot easier when fast-forwarding thru commercials.

As far as internet goes, I have noticed a few couple second dropouts. It doesn't stop anything in progress, that is, it doesn't go to a "not connected to internet screen." It happened more frequently my first month and not so bad now.
I never did a lot of uploading/downloading big files, I don't notice any big difference between the speed of the two.

I realize a lot of the things I like are Bells and Whistles, but they are bells and whistles that comcast doesn't have, at least not yet. But really it came down to I am getting more bang for my buck. With something like cable, you are always going to get people who have different experiences or like different things, so you just have to decide what's important to you and if the savings is worth taking a day off of work, if you need to.

my 2 cents.

Posted on: 2010/3/2 13:18
Top




« 1 (2) 3 4 5 ... 9 »




[Advanced Search]





Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!



LicenseInformation | AboutUs | PrivacyPolicy | Faq | Contact


JERSEY CITY LIST - News & Reviews - Jersey City, NJ - Copyright 2004 - 2017