Register now !    Login  
Main Menu
Who's Online
102 user(s) are online (89 user(s) are browsing Message Forum)

Members: 0
Guests: 102

more...

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users

Re: For those in flood prone areas. Storm surge
Home away from home
Home away from home

Hide User information
Last Login :
2019/8/30 19:03
From Downtown Jersey City
Group:
Registered Users
Quote:

Dolomiti wrote:
Quote:

hero69 wrote:
sea walls are a joke, what about pumping stations to deal with 1x a year flooding as opposed to &X every 100 years storm surge

They put in a few pumps back in 2013:

http://www.nj.com/jjournal-news/index ... y_installs_fourth_of.html

I have no idea whether pumps or seawalls are more effective, as I'm not a civil engineer or hydrologist. Are you? ;)

We should note, by the way, that Hoboken's city council refused to put in pumps, because of the usual NIMBY politics:

http://www.nj.com/hudson/index.ssf/20 ... ed_by_hoboken_city_c.html

JC might not be at the peak of efficiency, but it does seem that there is some tangible progress with flood mitigation.

Just an FYI, the pump resolution ultimately passed a few weeks later. See: http://www.nj.com/hudson/index.ssf/20 ... ml#incart_related_stories

Posted on: 2015/4/28 16:03

Home away from home
Home away from home

Hide User information
Last Login :
2020/8/26 13:40
Group:
Registered Users
Quote:

Dolomiti wrote:
Hero69 asked, I found a few articles, it looks like they're making some progress, and obviously major infrastructure changes like this take years.

Hardening JC against flooding needs to happen incrementally and continuously. Checklists like the EPA helps lay the framework and that should be started now, and not be tied to money we'll not see in our lifetime. (~3 years given political "once-in-a-lifetime" storm estimates).

Posted on: 2015/4/28 15:48

Home away from home
Home away from home

Hide User information
Last Login :
2019/11/14 1:56
Group:
Registered Users
Quote:

dtjcview wrote: