Register now !    Login  
Main Menu
Who's Online
113 user(s) are online (100 user(s) are browsing Message Forum)

Members: 0
Guests: 113

more...

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users

Re: Connect PATH to 6 train, or $4 billion MALL?
Home away from home
Home away from home

Hide User information
Last Login :
2021/11/20 23:45
From gone
Group:
Registered Users
Another issue is the length of the cars. I think the IRT cars are about the same length as PATH cars, but IND/BMT cars are about 10 feet longer. So extending the E, you might not be able to use E cars on the PATH tracks, assuming the longer cars can't handle PATH curves/geometry (I'm not an engineer, but the cars are shorter for a reason, I'm sure).

Also, the platforms at all stations would have to be extended quite a bit. An 11-car 6 train wouldn't fit on the platforms at Exchange Place or Grove Street (probably not JSQ or Harrison either). I think PA plans to extend the platforms at Grove to accommodate 10-car trains, what's an extra 50 feet?

These aren't fatal flaws, but considerations that come with some price tags I'm sure.

Posted on: 2014/9/18 3:47

Home away from home
Home away from home

Hide User information
Last Login :
2017/5/17 13:40
From Heights
Group:
Registered Users
Quote:

HCResident wrote:
Quote:

ahal wrote:
I think by 'connect,' people meant that there would be an underground connection between the two systems, that you could walk across. Not that the rail systems would be integrated with each other.

something akin to how there is a connection between the F train and the PATH at 23rd street

Quote:

HCResident wrote:
As somewhat of a former NYC Subway enthusiast, I can pretty much tell you that connecting the PATH to the Lexington line would have not likely worked no matter who was for it.