Register now !    Login  
Main Menu
Who's Online
25 user(s) are online (11 user(s) are browsing Message Forum)

Members: 0
Guests: 25

more...




Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users




« 1 2 (3)


Re: For those who are having issues with Netflix over FIOS
#14
Home away from home
Home away from home


Hide User information
Joined :
2008/8/12 18:31
Last Login :
4/26 22:05
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 3795
Offline
There is absolutely no correlation between broadband bandwidth performance and DNS resolution. The article makes no mention of DNS, and it wouldn't, as that has nothing to do with throttling.

Unless Verizon is purposely performing a "Man in the Middle" attack on Netflix servers, there is no way that DNS will have any sort of impact.

Posted on: 2014/1/19 23:45
Top


Re: For those who are having issues with Netflix over FIOS
#13
Home away from home
Home away from home


Hide User information
Joined :
2010/7/9 11:16
Last Login :
Yesterday 18:44
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 2454
Offline
Quote:



I am curious if anyone has the details.



The link in my original post has some details as to what is going on.

Posted on: 2014/1/19 15:22
Top


Re: For those who are having issues with Netflix over FIOS
#12
Just can't stay away
Just can't stay away


Hide User information
Joined :
2012/7/23 16:17
Last Login :
2015/10/6 15:31
From Hamilton Park
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 102
Offline
So, how is Verizon shaping bandwidth? As far as I am concerned DNS is just resolving the hosts IP, the path that is taken after that is still the same. Unless Verizon is "poisoning" DNS queries for Netflix servers and sending them over a suboptimal path.

I am curious if anyone has the details.


Posted on: 2014/1/19 15:15
Top


Re: For those who are having issues with Netflix over FIOS
#11
Home away from home
Home away from home


Hide User information
Joined :
2006/11/27 12:04
Last Login :
2016/7/1 9:09
From Southern JC
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 1173
Offline
Quote:

bill wrote:
Quote:

Br6dR wrote:
How do you open a comand DOS window on a router? (Just curious.)


You don't do it on the router, you do it on a windows computer by typing CMD in the run box.


OK. Gotcha.

Posted on: 2014/1/19 14:27
Top


Re: For those who are having issues with Netflix over FIOS
#10
Home away from home
Home away from home


Hide User information
Joined :
2009/12/22 20:28
Last Login :
2017/11/7 17:48
From 8th st
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 730
Offline
Thanks for letting us know. I was wondering how quickly they would stomp on netflix after the ruling. Didn't take long.

Posted on: 2014/1/19 14:26
Top


Re: For those who are having issues with Netflix over FIOS
#9
Home away from home
Home away from home


Hide User information
Joined :
2005/12/18 2:57
Last Login :
2017/9/14 20:15
From Crystal Point
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 710
Offline
Quote:

Br6dR wrote:
How do you open a comand DOS window on a router? (Just curious.)


You don't do it on the router, you do it on a windows computer by typing CMD in the run box.

Posted on: 2014/1/19 14:15
Top


Re: For those who are having issues with Netflix over FIOS
#8
Home away from home
Home away from home


Hide User information
Joined :
2006/11/27 12:04
Last Login :
2016/7/1 9:09
From Southern JC
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 1173
Offline
How do you open a comand DOS window on a router? (Just curious.)

Posted on: 2014/1/19 13:30
Top


Re: For those who are having issues with Netflix over FIOS
#7
Home away from home
Home away from home


Hide User information
Joined :
2005/11/12 17:04
Last Login :
Yesterday 21:33
From Downtown JC, VVP Area
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 497
Offline
Quote:

anonymess wrote:
Easy for you to say. -)

I haven't had a significant problem until yesterday and netflix was unwatchable. I am far from tech savvy and have no clue how to implement your suggestion. How difficult is it tO hard code a new DNS server address into the router?

Quote:

MDM wrote:

If you are having the same problem I was: I fixed it by signing up with OpenDNS. I hard coded the new DNS server address into the Fios router. After flushing the DNS cache on the computers and rebooting the bluray player, the lag issues went away.


It's actually pretty easy and there are tons of instructions on the Net to walk you through it. I'll drop a few links at the bottom of this to help you get started.

A couple of points: If you have a bunch of computers in the house then changing it at the router makes sense because those settings then get applied to every computer connecting through it to the Internet. If you just have 1 or 2 compters, making the change on each for slightly different network settings (A fixed DNS server, both primary and secondary) only takes maybe 30 seconds. By default, your computer is probably set to "Obtain DNS server automatically".

You can open an account with OpenDNS for free but it's really not necessary. I simply use theOpenDNS servers directly and they are:
?Primary 208.67.222.222
?Secondary 208.67.220.220

Other free and open DNS servers are in this list:
http://pcsupport.about.com/od/tipstri ... ee-public-dns-servers.htm

The simplest way to clear your DNS Cache in the computers after making the change at either the router or the computer is to reboot. You can also do it by opening a Command (DOS) windows and typing "ipconfig /flushdns" (note the space between g and /) and press enter.

Good instructions for the router method are here. Pick your specific router and it's step-by-step easy.

https://store.opendns.com/setup/router/

Or for setup on the computer (all operating systems) try here:

https://store.opendns.com/setup/computer/

Hope this helps,


Posted on: 2014/1/19 12:56
Top


Re: For those who are having issues with Netflix over FIOS
#6
Home away from home
Home away from home


Hide User information
Joined :
2006/11/27 12:04
Last Login :
2016/7/1 9:09
From Southern JC
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 1173
Offline
Simple. http://www.dslreports.com/forum/r8963 ... d-Coding-DNS-into-Router-

Quote:

anonymess wrote:
Easy for you to say. -)

I haven't had a significant problem until yesterday and netflix was unwatchable. I am far from tech savvy and have no clue how to implement your suggestion. How difficult is it tO hard code a new DNS server address into the router?

Quote:

MDM wrote:

If you are having the same problem I was: I fixed it by signing up with OpenDNS. I hard coded the new DNS server address into the Fios router. After flushing the DNS cache on the computers and rebooting the bluray player, the lag issues went away.

Posted on: 2014/1/19 12:32
Top


Re: For those who are having issues with Netflix over FIOS
#5
Home away from home
Home away from home


Hide User information
Joined :
2006/11/27 12:04
Last Login :
2016/7/1 9:09
From Southern JC
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 1173
Offline
And the world of deregulation and unlimited cash to polititicians from megacorporations.

Quote:

mscottc wrote:
Welcome to a world without net neutrality, where the ISPs and the other companies that run the internet can favor some clients over others in delivering bandwidth, all for favoring big business. Verizon just won a big court case over this.

Posted on: 2014/1/19 12:26
Top


Re: For those who are having issues with Netflix over FIOS
#4
Home away from home
Home away from home


Hide User information
Joined :
2008/11/8 15:38
Last Login :
Yesterday 16:19
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 190
Offline
Welcome to a world without net neutrality, where the ISPs and the other companies that run the internet can favor some clients over others in delivering bandwidth, all for favoring big business. Verizon just won a big court case over this.

Posted on: 2014/1/19 12:08
Top


Re: For those who are having issues with Netflix over FIOS
#3
Home away from home
Home away from home


Hide User information
Joined :
2012/3/22 22:36
Last Login :
2018/11/21 2:00
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 245
Offline
Easy for you to say. -)

I haven't had a significant problem until yesterday and netflix was unwatchable. I am far from tech savvy and have no clue how to implement your suggestion. How difficult is it tO hard code a new DNS server address into the router?

Quote:

MDM wrote:

If you are having the same problem I was: I fixed it by signing up with OpenDNS. I hard coded the new DNS server address into the Fios router. After flushing the DNS cache on the computers and rebooting the bluray player, the lag issues went away.

Posted on: 2014/1/19 11:29
Top


Re: For those who are having issues with Netflix over FIOS
#2
Home away from home
Home away from home


Hide User information
Joined :
2011/4/15 3:58
Last Login :
2019/5/9 22:13
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 801
Offline
Sorta side-tracking here - for those of you with FIOS but uses your own modem/router, what brand/model do you use, and would you recommend? I want to stop renting the Verizon router/modem, but not sure what I should get as a replacement.

TIA!

Posted on: 2014/1/19 4:19
Top


For those who are having issues with Netflix over FIOS
#1
Home away from home
Home away from home


Hide User information
Joined :
2010/7/9 11:16
Last Login :
Yesterday 18:44
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 2454
Offline
Netflix for me has become almost unwatchable due to persistent lag issues. It used to only happen on Sunday evenings. Now its happening constantly.

Turns out, this might be due to a pissing match between Verizon, Netflix, and a third part bandwith supplier. Netflix streams it appears are being deliberately choked.

If you are having the same problem I was: I fixed it by signing up with OpenDNS. I hard coded the new DNS server address into the Fios router. After flushing the DNS cache on the computers and rebooting the bluray player, the lag issues went away.

Posted on: 2014/1/19 3:45
Top




« 1 2 (3)




[Advanced Search]





Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!



LicenseInformation | AboutUs | PrivacyPolicy | Faq | Contact


JERSEY CITY LIST - News & Reviews - Jersey City, NJ - Copyright 2004 - 2017