Register now !    Login  
Main Menu
Who's Online
67 user(s) are online (57 user(s) are browsing Message Forum)

Members: 0
Guests: 67

more...

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users

Re: Greenville: Paralyzed woman targets more than driver in civil suit - going after bar too.
Just can't stay away
Just can't stay away

Hide User information
Last Login :
2009/12/25 2:12
Group:
Banned
It's entirely possible, but the exact amount of compensation is up to the jury, should the court find for her case. That's why tort reform has been a somewhat heated topic in the past few decades.

Posted on: 2009/8/26 23:12

Re: Greenville: Paralyzed woman targets more than driver in civil suit - going after bar too.
Just can't stay away
Just can't stay away

Hide User information
Last Login :
2010/6/2 1:55
Group:
Registered Users
I am not a lawyer nor do i claim to have an insight into tort.

But doesnt speculating about compensating future dependence leave lawsuits such as this one open to near unlimited amounts? Also from my experiences her auto insurance/homeowners/etc etc will have un/under insured stipulations that will assist her further.

Correct me if i am wrong.

Posted on: 2009/8/26 23:10

Just can't stay away
Just can't stay away

Hide User information
Last Login :
Group:
Banned
Quote:

Garyg wrote:
I think the problem is this women needs money for the kind of care she is going to need to help in her recovery, and probably for most of her life. She needs to sue as many people as humanly possible to create as large a pool as possible to get that money from. In all likelihood the guy driving the car, even the car owner have limited insurance policies, and minimal to actually collect on. Furthermore being in prison doesn't really help his earning potential. I wish her and her family the best of luck and what must be a truly horrifying experience.